We get it. Getting a Florida FR-44 requirement feels like a hassle. Today Insurance is here to make it easy for you. Request a free policy quote now, and we’ll help you get the ball rolling.
Florida’s Driving Risks
It is sobering to realize just how dangerous Florida’s roadways can be.
- In 2017, there were 402,385 car crashes, 254,310 injuries and 3,116 fatalities
- Alcohol use contributed to 5,125 crashes and 374 fatalities
- Brevard County recorded 9,056 crashes, with 84 fatalities and more than 6,500 injuries
As a driver, you have to do your share not to make these risks worse. One of your tasks is to get car insurance, which Florida law requires of all drivers. Still, around 26% of Florida drivers don’t have coverage—that’s the highest rate in America.
Lacking car insurance is an offense on its own. Still, if you break other driving laws, the authorities might place even more pressure on you. One of the penalties you might face is the Florida FR-44 certificate. It will more-effectively force you to have coverage, so you can protect not only yourself, but also others.
The Florida FR-44
An FR-44 is a financial responsibility insurance certificate issued by your insurer. Drivers who have to file these forms are usually those convicted of alcohol-related traffic crimes, such as:
- Driving under the influence of drugs, alcohol or intoxicants (DUI charges)
- Driving with a suspended driver’s license due to DUI charges
- Driving while the license has been suspended due to a finding of not innocent (juvenile cases)
- Harming someone else while driving under the influence
- Violating any federal law, law of the State of Florida or any local city or county ordinance related to any of the above-mentioned crimes.
If you commit such offenses, you’ll receive the label of a high-risk (or dangerous) driver. Because you present these risks, the FR-44 will verify for the State of Florida that you have active car insurance.
Florida’s FR-44 Requirements
You cannot just get any car insurance and assume you can file for an FR-44. Your coverage must contain higher insurance limits than those required of other Florida drivers. You must have at least:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) insurance per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability insurance per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability (PDL) insurance
The FR-44 endorsement will remain attached to your policy for at least 3 years. Failing to keep your policy active during this time (which keeps the certificate active) will result in further penalties.
Is the FR-44 the Same as an SR-22?
Some Florida drivers have to get an SR-22 certificate instead of an FR-44. They are both proof of active car insurance, but they not identical. While SR-22s force drivers to get certain coverage, they do not require limits quite as high as those of the FR-44. The SR-22 requirements are for:
- $10,000 BIL coverage per person
- $20,000 BIL coverage per accident
- $10,000 PDL coverage per accident
While the FR-44 applies mostly to DUI recipients, the SR-22 might target other offenders, like those caught driving without insurance or who have significant points on their licenses. Drivers must keep the form on file for a certain period (usually 3 years) and you cannot let coverage lapse during the penalty.
We’ll Help You Keep Yourself Covered
Sometimes, getting an FR-44 can make it harder to get your vehicle insured. Some insurers won’t insure FR-44 drivers at all. Others might significantly increase your premium, which will make it harder to afford your coverage and might even increase your risks of a policy lapse. We don’t want you to have to struggle to get covered. If you need a certificate, all you have to do is let us get to work.
At Today Insurance Services, we can help any FR-44 or SR-22 applicant find a policy, pay for it and maintain it. As long as you need assistance with your coverage, we’re here to make sure you get it.
Call us at 321-383-4429 to get help with filing for an FR-44.